Since I didn’t have any of my supplies from last year I had to make do with what I had this year for our Thanksgiving tree. I even changed it up a bit because I had some new ideas.

First we got a branch off of a broken tree limb that had fallen into our yard from the storm the day before. Instead of taking off the leaves like we did last year, I decided to leave them on! I stuck the branch into a small vase filled with aquarium rocks and I didn’t even need the foam. The rocks held it in place perfectly. I then added ribbon to the vase and my daughter added ribbon to the branches.

Image

 

Image

 

Then I had everyone trace their hands on fall colored construction paper, cut them out and write what they were thankful for on them. I didn’t get to take a picture of my stepsons but he made one too!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

And of course my hole punch was no where to be found and I am all out of hot glue sticks so I ended up having to staple the ribbon to construction paper. I figured since this year we are not having any company and the kids were having a good time doing it that they weren’t too concerned with how neat it looked lol.

Image

The kids hung all the hands on the tree and then we put it on the mantle. I will leave it up until Sunday, when we put up the Christmas decorations. I am also going to keep all of the hands and save them for next year. Maybe I will come up with a new way to combine them and also see the difference in my children and what they are thankful for a whole year later. 

Image

Image

So this is our final product! We added some color to a tree branch with our hands, literally! And Viktor added some color to his complexion! 

Image

Happy Thanks giving from A Small Village!

Image

